Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Nimbus Sweater

Posted by craftycathy on February 14, 2008

Nimbus Sweater (Twinkle)Nimbus Sweater (Twinkle)

Nimbus Sweater (Twinkle)

Nimbus Sweater (Twinkle)

Ta-da! My first FO from Twinkles Weekend Knits.

Rather then only doubling the yarn for the neck and making it full length, I decided to go with the funnel neck look that Omiru talked about last week. Since I’m “not blessed with a long swan neck” I thought the shorter wider funnel as suggested would be my fashion statement for this winter.

I really like the shaping although if when I make it again I’d make it a few inches longer since the bottom edge curls up. The yarn is definitely lacking in luster and since it was from my stash (a frogged sweater to be exact and quite cheap in the first place) it was a bit cut up and I had to weave in quite a few ends. Someday I hope to be able to splurge and use Twinkle yarn. I can imagine how beautiful it would look.

I would also probably make the large since I’m not too fond of the way it stretches, which its supposed to do but it makes me feel as if it’s too small! Also, somehow my sleeves turned out to be quarter length rather then full like the girl in the photo’s. (Maybe she has short arms?!)

There’s a small errata that I found. Under BODY, RND 5 should read: Knit across front stitches to the marker, slip marker, k3, k2tg, yo, k13 (15,17), yo, ssk, k3.

I was also confused about the neck piece. I followed the instructions and ended up with the wrong side out. I thought it gave the neck some character so I didn’t bother trying to figure out the error, but I think if you go the opposite way it will work (pickup the sleeve, back, sleeve, front).

8 Responses to “Nimbus Sweater”

  1. Francesca said

    Hey, thanks for your correction. I’m at row 5 right now… I thought that was the way it should be but it’s nice to know I won’t have to unpick it after a while… I actually made the sleeves an inch longer and haven’t joined them yet, but am thinking of making them longer still. (this is very strange for me as normally I have to shorten sleeves on everything I buy – I’m 5’6 but apparently have short arms…) And thanks for the information about the neck – something to look out for. It is really nice of you to post this stuff:)

    Francesca
    Spain

    ps am using Rowan Biggy Print which I got on sale…

  2. craftycathy said

    Ohh I would love to see your finished sweater in Rowan. I hear Rowan is a nice sub.

  3. Sara said

    Very much appreciate this correction.. I was starting to get really frustrated!

  4. Merry said

    I am at round 17 and confused. I have 2 stitches left before I slip the marker. the rest of the stitches don’t add up to end at the starting marker. Thoughts?

  5. Norma Byrd said

    I hunted down your comments in desperation (suggested by someone on another site). I’d completely raveled out two starts before finding the error on row 5 and successfully correcting it, but I think there’s another on row 21. Every time I’ve gotten that far, I end up with two more stitches at the end of the round than there should be. I’m now trying to figure out how to correct this without affecting the nice increase and decrease and hole pattern. I know you said it’s been a long time since you did this, but if you remember anything about it, I’d love to hear from you.

    • Cathy said

      Hi Norma,

      I checked in my book and didn’t see any other notes aside from the Round 5 error. I’m sorry I can’t be of more help. There is a Twinkle group on Ravelry that may be able to assist. http://www.ravelry.com/groups/twinkle-knitters

      Good luck!
      Cathy

      • Norma Byrd said

        Thanks so much Cathy! I’ve identified and corrected other errors and I’m now in the process of doing the raglans. WOW, what an exercise in determination this has been! But it’s looking like a sweater and I think from here on it’ll be smooth sailing — or knitting!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

