Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Birdie

Posted by 2ton Inspired on November 2, 2007

Ta-da! My first official crocheted amigurumi. Secretly I’ve been harboring the desire to learn how to crochet just to be able to make my own amigurumi army. Birdie is the first of many, I assure you.

Yesterday I stopped by the library and borrowed “Teach Yourself Visually Crocheting.” I’m a visual person so this book is great for me and made it easy to learn. I’ll admit that I didn’t read the entire book and skipped to the chapter about crocheting in the round and jumped around as I needed to learn the techniques for completing Birdie. But still, I’m quite proud of my ability to learn that way.

I saw this pattern at BitterSweet and thought it would be a great first project. I got better as the rows went along and ended up turning the birdie upside down since the bottom looked much nicer the the top. My mind still has problems grasping the shorthand used for crochet patterns but I suppose like everything it will take some time to get use to.

Leave a comment