Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Oh Baby Baby, Part 2

Posted by 2ton Inspired on November 26, 2007

(Warning: So much to say about these items…. I kept typing and typing! This is a long-ish post!)

The rest of the gifts have been given so it’s show and tell time! It’s so much fun to knit baby things. Not only because they’re quick knits but they’re fun to give to the parents to be. I enjoyed that part the best. I am getting anxious to knit up some girl items though! While searching for boy patterns I found a few girl items that I can’t wait to try. Patterns like Knitty’s Anouk, EZ’s February sweater, Saarje’s Booties, and tons of others!

Not having my own baby makes it difficult to gauge sizes and to know if something will fit for the age it says. Often times my knitting gauge is off in general so it was a guessing game for most of these garments. In any case (fitting or not!) I think they turned out super cute and I wished I could have kept some for my own. Hehe.

It was also my first time working with Sugar N Cream cotton yarn. I love it and will definitely work with it again. (Sugar n Cream was only used on the Raglan Tunic, the hats and the booties with pompoms)

The softness of the yarn feels nice against my fingers and I can imagine that it will only get softer with wear.The best part though is that it is machine washable. Who wants to hand wash when there are babies to be fed/burped/slept/play with?!

On to the garments!

DSC03483

Debbie Bliss’ Raglan Sweater from The Baby Knits book

I was a little unsure about the width and length. I made the 6-9 month version. If I make this again I probably will copy my friends idea of doing contrasting color arms. I love the baseball shirt look.

Usually when I hear the word raglan I think seamless! But I was tricked. It wasn’t seamless but I forgive Mrs. Bliss since it turned out so well.

Baby Hat 8-2007 3

Kim’s Hat from Last Minute Knitted Gifts

I often wish my interchangeable needles came with a longer cord. (The brand I have no longer makes the needles.) It would make these hats much easier to make. The 32 inch ones force me to angle my wrist in an unnatural way. It’s knit-able but not as comfortable as it probably should be.

Anyway, I love the color of the yarn. It doesn’t scream baby and when I saw it I knew it was perfect for the mom.

Easy Booties 7-2007 7Easy Booties 7-2007 2

Easy Baby Booties

As usual I made a few modifications. Rather then continuing the ribbing to the top I added a 3-4 row garter stitch border. I thought it gave it a more finished look. I love the electric blue color and it goes well with the hat. These were my first attempt at booties so I love how easy the directions were. It did confirm my suspicions that I’m a terrible counter though. I must have made at least 4 of the green ones before I got two of the same size! My record for making two of the same is well… maybe 2 in 5.

The yarn is Caron Simply Soft. Again, machine wash friendly for new moms.

Small Dolls

It was love at first sight for these little guys. I couldn’t wait to make them. The green/cream one was the “test” doll to see how well the I could make the doll. If you look closely you can see the arms and legs are different.

DSC03453

The first one I wanted to avoid seaming so I decreased the arms to close which made them rounder in shape.I thought it turned out well and was ready to add him to the gift pile. We named him “Rocket” and D grew a little attached (OK, I did too) so I decided to keep him and make another in boyish colors.

The blue one was made a bit smaller then the pattern but I was true to the pattern for the arms and legs. I admit it does give the doll a more robot feeling with the straight lines. Both are equally cute though! We named him “Rocket” as well. They’re non-identical twins!

Booties and Hat Set

DSC03471Baby Hat 8-2007 1

Lastly, I gave this bootie and hat set to my favorite bassist Dougie Payne of Travis. His wife is expecting in March. The booties are a modified version of a Drops pattern. I love the roundness of the toes and the pompoms. Who doesn’t love pompoms? (These also took a few tries before making two of the same!)

The hat is the trusty Kims Hat pattern. (That pattern is going to go a long way for me! Who could ask for anything better then a pre-calculated hat in baby, toddler, womens and men sizes??)

If I had more time I would have made another Raglan Tunic and stitched a guitar on it. I can picture it now. It would be soo cute!

Leave a Reply

 
