Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Autobots, roll out!

Posted by 2ton Inspired on December 10, 2007

DSC03471

Baby Hat 8-2007 1

Baby Hat 8-2007 1

How adorable is this going to be on a 5 year old?

I revamped the chart from yes, i MADE that to be smaller since I was using size 7 needles. (Her pattern calls for size 3, I think. Which is probably why my last attempt turned out so huge!). I really like the way the black hat with the green Autobot turned out. You can really see the symbol. The green hat with the black Autobot looks good too but you have to look harder to recognize the Autobot symbol. I think it’s because my purl stitches are looser (the green hat side was the purl side) and it doesn’t look as tight.

The ear flaps were added at the end by just picking up and knitting. I should have paid more attention to the types of decreases I was using so that both sides would match, but it’s not a big deal. I’m sure I’ll be the only one to notice that they’re not symmetrical.

I read somewhere (in a magazine or on forums) that you shouldn’t point out mistakes to recipients. One of the reasons were that they might feel that you’re downplaying your skills and the idea of handcraft. Which makes complete sense to me. I always try to make a perfect item, especially if it’s a gift, but there are times when you don’t see the mistake until the very end or until it’s 10 inches too late.

The double knit really makes it a warm hat and who doesn’t like the idea of reversible? My next double knit project is going to be another Transformers hat, but I’ll be attempting to make each side different. I’m off to do some research!

5 Responses to “Autobots, roll out!”

  1. Lori said

    OH wow!! I love it! The earflaps look awesome and I love the green and black together.

  2. Rachel said

    I loooove this hat! I followed you over from Ravelry to see how you had changed the pattern. I’m about to attempt this hat (the original pattern) for my husband’s friend, but I really like your take on it. Especially the size 7 needle part….much faster! Sadly, there are only two basic knitting skills I have yet to master, and one of them is double knitting. I have tried double knitting before and I just can’t get the hang of it. Maybe that will be my new year’s resolution!

    Anyway, just wanted to tell you how awesome your hat was.

    Rachel

  3. rebecca said

    o my goodnes! i really love this hat. could one of you please help me with the size 7 needle pattern? where can i find it? I’m not the strongest knitter ever … and the original pattern looked too complicated with such small needles and stuff. please help?

  4. craftycathy said

    Hi Rebecca. The pattern I used is a modified Kim’s Hat pattern from the book Last Minute Knitted Gifts. The main modification I made was making it double knitted. Good luck!

  5. cseneque said

    This is awesome! I’m off to try it out…

Leave a Reply

 
