Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Drops 103-1 — Odd Shaped Sleeves

Posted by 2ton Inspired on December 19, 2007

DSC03471

After finishing up knitting everything but the collar I put this aside for a few days to work up the energy to block. I know it doesn’t take much to block but the idea of it always sounds daunting. I successfully got the front and back pieces steam blocked to the same size… not too difficult because they actually weren’t off by too much.

The picture shows the two arms. (Terrible picture but I had to rush out the door) I assure you they are the same size even though the picture doesn’t look like it. It’s the angle. It’s hard to stand above and take a picture.

What I did see after blocking the sleeves is that one slope is steeper then the other. It’s not just one but both sleeves, the same side on both sleeves. So I kind of think its the pattern. Or more correctly how I interpreted the pattern. I’m not so good at reading these GarnStudio patterns. So far I’ve ended up reading and re-reading the instructions and still get confused sometimes.

I guess the debate is do I redo the decreases on the sleeves or do I attempt to seam it up and maybe probably have oddly set sleeves? I shouldn’t risk seaming on a odd shaped sleeve and have it turn out ugly, but I know I will. I also know I’ll hate it and redo it. Measure twice cut once. Lessons we never learn.

Ahh but the collar is half finished. I couldn’t really get those instructions straight either and sort of winged it. Somehow when I picked up stitches I got way way more then the recommended but the number of times I need to increase to match up the collar to the edge of the front pieces is more then 9. This part may also see a frogging too.

And here I thought this would be an easy sweater to knock out.

More posts:
Drops 103-1 – oopsies
Drops 103-1 – one part done

Leave a Reply

 
