Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Garter Scarf and A Little R&R

Posted by 2ton Inspired on January 4, 2008

(Late post! It’s been a busy day at work)

DSC04058 (Small)

DSC04045 (Small)

This scarf was actually pretty fun to make. It also seemed like a short project because you’re working the long way, so you’re really only knitting about 4 inches. I CO a little over 200 sts on size 10.5 needles and made random stripes. This was one of the times I didn’t mind the wonky color change rows while in garter stitch because it makes it more interesting. Plus I was able to use up leftovers of both the pink and gray yarn.

I also got to use a new type of CO (I’m not sure what type of CO but it’s the one where you pull the yarn between two sts.) I wanted something that would be stretchy. The CO method was nice too because I didn’t have to guess how much of a tail I would need to make enough sts. I BO using the sewn BO since it was said to be a good stretchy BO.

On the ends I wanted to make a fringe but it wasn’t looking so pretty. Instead I did a single crochet to hide a few of the ugly twists I did when bringing the yarn up to the next row.

The scarf is for me, but I thought it’d be fun to have the husband model it.

*******

Anyway, I’m off for a week of R&R with the husband and some friends. It’s not like I really need more time off since our holiday was so low key, but hey, who can say no to sun, beaches and the sound of the ocean? Depending on what we’re doing I may have time to post some more projects from the last few weeks.

*******

WIP Update Friday’s

  • EZ February Tunic: 70%
  • Drops 103-1: 90%
  • Adding Sleeves to my Kangaroo Tunic: 20%

Dropouts (frogged)

  • Double knitted Travis scarf

Graduates (FO)

  • Double knitted mittens
Leave a Reply

 
