Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Expanding the library

Posted by 2ton Inspired on January 16, 2008

Since we didn’t really have Christmas with the family this year (most were in Vietnam) I treated myself to a non-knitting book:

bend_the_rules.jpg

Bend-the-rules Sewing by Amy Karol

I was drawn to this book because of the great intro chapters for beginning/novice sewers. She’s got great tips on sewing in general and then tips on the projects themselves. The projects also seemed practical and simple to make. Plus the variety of the patterns is great.

I’ve been a follower of Amy Karol’s blog angry chicken for awhile so I already admired her work. This book is no exception. I can only hope to make such beautiful creative things, but this book seems to be a great start for me.

Check it out…

No Cash WalletNo Cash Wallet

DSC04064 (Small)DSC04063 (Small)

DSC04056 (Small)DSC04054 (Small)

These are all variations of the No Cash Wallet. They were quite easy to make and modify. I’ve been using the small wallet for a few weeks now and really like it. The DS case turned out a bit shorter then I’d like (the top flap doesn’t quite reach to the middle) but it’s still nice. The zipper pocket took a bit of fiddling with but it was worth it to have the closed pocket for carrying multiple games.

Leave a Reply

 
