Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Discovering KnitPicks

Posted by 2ton Inspired on January 17, 2008

For a long time now I’ve avoided yarns that you can buy online. It just seemed so daunting to go online and buy yarn that I couldn’t feel or see with my own eyes. Plus it always seemed so expensive! A few weeks ago I decided to bite the bullet and went ahead and purchased KnitPicks Shine Sport to make a pair of fingerless gloves for my mom. It seemed reasonable since they don’t require much yarn (well… and one of the colors i wanted was on sale) and it would give me a chance to see how well I liked it.

And like it I do. I’m really enjoying the sheen that the yarn has and how soft it feels (60% Pima Cotton, 40% Modal®). Plus this particular yarn is machine washable (always a plus!). You can bet I’ll be back for more.

I’m using my Fingerless Mittens pattern since it calls for sport weight and if I didn’t already have my own pair, I’d want to steal these. They’re about 3/4 done so tomorrow might be show and tell day, depending on how my night goes.

fingerlessmitten_sm.jpg Fingerless Mittens

Leave a Reply

 
