Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Mum’s Mittens

Posted by 2ton Inspired on January 18, 2008

MomFingerless 1-08 04 (Small)MomFingerless 1-08 08 (Small)

MomFingerless 1-08 09 (Small)

MomFingerless 1-08 05 (Small)

Like I mentioned yesterday, at my moms request I made her a pair of my Fingerless Mittens. Her favorite color is purple and I really like how the contrasting color pops. (I’m taking a color theory class this semester and can’t wait to start applying what I learn to knitting!)

Will anyone be surprised if I said I made a few modifications to my own pattern?

  • Selvage stitch in contrasting color. With my pair, it’s hard to distinguish which hand is which since I didn’t use a selvage stitch and it appears seamless. I’m a stickler for right mitten and left mitten so it’s nice to see the distinction.
  • Shorter and longer. The bottom half (below the thumb) is about 6 rows shorter because I was afraid I would run out of the purple yarn. The top half is 3 rows longer because I wanted the pattern to complete itself and match the bottom. I think it worked out well because my mom did request them to be longer at the fingers.
  • Different increase. I used the M1 tbl on these rather then just adding a stitch. I think I like the added stitch because it makes a little “line” that shows the curve of the thumb.
  • Sewn BO. This method let me tighten the opening. Since the hand narrows towards the fingers it gives a snug fit.

Some other observations:

  • Love the stretch factor.
  • I used almost all of the purple (150 yards). Maybe 5-6 yards left over.
  • These knitted up pretty fast. I would guess about 8 hours each, but I did make a few mistakes and had to rip a few inches out and then I fiddled with the bind off on both for a good hour or so.
  • When I make these again I might try to figure out how to carry the pattern across through the thumbs for a nice seamless look.

How the heck do you take pictures of mittens? I had a heck of a time coming up with poses and the husband kept wanting me to put my hand in unnatural positions. The last picture is my “ugh, just take the darn picture!”

Leave a Reply

 
