Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Drops 103-1 – To the frog pond

Posted by 2ton Inspired on January 21, 2008

I was so excited to start this pattern. I wanted it to be my go to sweater jacket for the chilly days. I should have seen the signs that it wasn’t meant to be. The shedding yarn (Bernat Alpaca), the way the front middle rode up, the odd shaped sleeves, the bunched up collar, the odd shaped sleeves that turned out too large, the yarn of varying widths… but I trucked through it and unfortunately it’s on the way to the frog pond.

The biggest issue I had was the seaming. The first time I seamed along the edges, seemed like the obvious choice. It turned out too large! The underarms were saggy and too wide. The body was way too large, even for an a-line. I thought I could take in the sleeve seams and cut off the excess, but it was hard to make both sides match. I also measured incorrectly and the front panels were longer then the front by a teeny bit and bunched up the side seams. What made the decision final was that the a-line shape wasn’t flattering on me.

I’m sure it’s a combination of the type of yarn, my gauge, my measurements and the overall look of the sweater that failed me. It was a little sad to rip it apart, but I’ve a few ideas of what to use the yarn for.

Here’s a picture of the finished jacket. It may not look so bad in the photos but I felt that it just wasn’t the right size, shape and yarn for me.

Drops 103-1

More posts:
Drops 103-1 – oopsies
Drops 103-1 – one part done
Drops 103-1 – odd shaped sleeves
Drops 103-1 – almost there

One Response to “Drops 103-1 – To the frog pond”

  1. milmom said

    Beautiful jacket!

Leave a Reply

 
