Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Amigurumi Crazed

Posted by 2ton Inspired on January 23, 2008

super_happy.jpg
amigurumi-book.jpg

Since making the baby turtles I’ve been a bit obsessed with ami’s and even went maybe a little overboard with the book buying. I got Amigurumi Supper Happy Crochet Cute by Elizabeth Doherty a few weeks ago but just got additional hooks this weekend to start making Benny (the blue green monkey on the cover).

So far I’m really enjoying the book. I really got it for the humanoid creatures but some of the foodies and animals look amazing too. There’s a wiener dog that I think my friend will want to make once I convince her to start ami’s!

The only wish I have for the book is more details on how to assemble the ami’s after making all the pieces. I had some issues seeing how the muzzle of Benny would look right. (Happy to report that I went ahead and sewed it on anyway and he looks “normal” like the pictures.) It continually amazes me how these bits and pieces can make up something terribly cute and how designers can conceptualize and then create the final product. Benny is about half finished so he’ll make an appearance soon!

Today while browsing the soon to be closing Borders in Block E (downtown Mpls) I made an impulse purchase of Kyuuto! Japanese Crafts Amigurumi for the cute bears on the cover and the sweet little animals (frogs, ducklings, elephants) inside. This book is part of a series for translating Japanese crafting books into English. The patterns are written line by line with symbols and pictures of assembly. I’m hoping that the symbols don’t break me because I’m not that good at reading knitting charts (for lace and cables).

2 Responses to “Amigurumi Crazed”

  1. milmom said

    Those are cute! I am not a person to make things which I will not use myself or give to someone who could use it, but if I had or knew someone with little kiddies, I would totally make those!

  2. petribudhi said

    I’m the one that have little kid, would you mind teaching me make baby stuff: baby shoe, hat, jumper etc.

Leave a Reply

 
