Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Busybody

Posted by 2ton Inspired on February 4, 2008

Oops!  What happened to Friday? The weekend just flew by it was so busy. We had a family business obligation on Friday and then had some friends/family over on Saturday to be my guinea pigs for Pho and then more family on Sunday and finally the Superbowl. Whew! It makes me tired all over again just writing it out.

I’m a little bummed I forgot to take a picture of a bowl of Pho because it was a huge success! I was a little worried it wouldn’t turn out half as good as my moms because I left out a lot of the measurements when I wrote down the recipe as she was teaching me. I guess what she always says is true, “Asians don’t measure, they put in however much they need to make it taste right.”

I did manage to wind down the weekend by catching the end of the Law and Order: SVU marathon and working on an Amigurumi. This one is from the book Kyuuto! Japanese Crafts! Amigurumi. I love ami’s they take shape so quickly, usually only use one type of stitch and lets me use up leftover yarn from other projects! As you can see a few hours of work produced the head, body and 3 limbs of the bear. Just one more leg, two ears and the nose left and he’s finished!

Sometimes I’m too strong for my own good. I managed to break my hook. Granted it was plastic and bend-y, but still. I really wanted to finish this guy so I used a little super glue and duct tape. I’m sure my gauge is a bit off so it’s a good thing it broke at the start of one leg. the other leg will be about the same size. This means no more plastic hooks for me. Metal or wooden or nothing at all. It’s a shame because I just got this one too.

Bear

Leave a Reply

 
