Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Two wrongs do make a right!

Posted by 2ton Inspired on February 7, 2008

Antro Inspired Caplet
Antro Inspired Caplet
Close up of buttons

Success! Earlier I lamented on the horrors of my first caplet and the project this yarn was intended for. Dreaded cursed things they were. While I’m not loving the way this turned out it’s nice enough to not make it to the frog pond. I wanted to do a large fold-over collar but I think I didn’t make it long enough. It barely folds in the back.

Looking at the pictures I’m also wondering if I put the buttons high enough. Maybe they should be closer to the top? I didn’t make button holes because the garter sts are large enough to poke the buttons through. Or maybe I should buy new buttons, enough to button from top to bottom?

I’m also noticing that one arm might be shorter then the other…. darn the yarn thickness inconsistencies! I tried to match them all.

I went with size 15 needles and the yarn has a nice drapey feel to it. I think it would make a nice cowl neck. It’s a shame I didn’t notice it earlier… I would have started over and made it a sweater. Maybe I’ll do some testing with the leftover yarn (at least 3 balls) and make a cowl caplet.

The only problem is that it’s still shedding. Insanely shedding. Like we have a cat shedding. I’m going to pop it in the wash this weekend to see if it helps. If not I’m taking my lint roller to it until there’s nothing left to shed.

Pattern: Anthropology Inspired Caplet by Peony Knits

Yarn: Bernat Alpaca Silk

Leave a Reply

 
