Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

WIP it! WIP it good.

Posted by 2ton Inspired on February 21, 2008

DSC04457 (Small)

EZ_Feb

Antro Inspired Caplet

Or not really good. I try my hardest to be a monogamous knitter, but sometimes there are just those projects that (1) seem endless or (2) were so fun to start and then got mundane or (3) were finished just to be finished and don’t really look flattering.

Lucky me I have one of all three.

The first – endless – is the For the Horde scarf (top picture). I’ve never been big on making scarves, and if I did make them they were skinny on huge needles. This one’s a doozie because it’s double knit which means I’m pretty much making two scarves! I figure I need to make it at least 66 inches to wrap around once. I’m almost at 30 inches. so I’m a little short then half way there. One inch at a time I suppose.

The second – fun to start – is the EZ February Sweater (middle picture). I started this way back in December when I was hopeful that one of my friends was going to have a girl. I really like the pattern and enjoy the lace part but after awhile I got tired of concentrating so hard! I just wanted something mindless and then I found out the friend is having a boy instead! It got put on the back burner for awhile, but I’m about 4 inches shy of finishing.
Finally, the third – finish it already – is the Anthropology Inspired Caplet. I’ll admit it now. I failed myself. I finished it to finish it. I hate the way the bottom flares out like that. I hate where I put the buttons and the sleeves are meh. I already ripped out the bottom 4 inches of rib and did a nice garter trim (only 4 rows so it falls right at my hip bone and doesn’t flare out like that). I ripped back the sleeves and plan on giving them a little bell shape ending in 4 rows of garter. The collar is undecided. I might move the buttons to the top and leave it at that. Or maybe try to find a flattering collar detail.

And so I end with a lament that I’m going to be spending more time with these guys and probably won’t have much to report. I want to finish at least two of them before starting something new!

Leave a Reply

 
