Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Too cute for words

Posted by 2ton Inspired on February 25, 2008

Elizabeth Zimmermann. I kept seeing her name everywhere and didn’t quite understand. Until I saw BrooklynTweeds gorgeous February Sweater. As usual his FO’s are amazing and the photos make them look very professional!

Anyway, after seeing that I went to the library and tracked down Knitters Almanac. I was a bit surprised at the way the book read. I guess I was expecting a pattern book but it’s more of a building block book. I’ll admit that I was a bit impatient and didn’t want to do any actual reading/learning so I jumped right to the February pattern. In hindsight it would have been a good idea to read. It would have made the pattern deciphering a lot more quicker but eventually I figured it out. And here you have it.

EZ Feb Sweater 2-2008 1

Overall it was a lot of fun to work on. The lace pattern gave me some trouble at first but after a few repeats I was able to memorize it. Not much I would change except for the time I brought this to my knitting get together. Not an easy thing to work on while chit chatting! I might try just two buttons at the top or an i-cord closure for after the yolk.

A close up of the crochet covered buttons. The ones I had were plain white and didn’t complete the look. I had some left over sport weight in dark purple that worked well. I’d never covered buttons before so it was an interesting feat. I’m sure there are tutorials out there but I’d rather spend my time figuring it out then searching. (read: lazy!)

EZ Feb Sweater 2-2008 2

I can see this sweater with many different variations of lace/size/length. Although this was the perfect size as I used just one ball of Lion Brand Cotton.

One Response to “Too cute for words”

  1. Sarah said

    that’s excellent! it’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

 
