Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Balthezar Vest

Posted by 2ton Inspired on February 27, 2008

While I really like how the vest turned out but the pattern leaves much to be desired. It is vary vague and leaves a lot up to the knitter. I made the medium since I didn’t want it to be too huggy. (Following the Twinkle sizing I should make small.)

The eyelets were mentioned but it didn’t talk about how many rows to carry it through. I went until the split of the arms from the back. I counted the ones in the picture and it’s 9 (mine turned out to be 11), but it can also be a sizing issue.

Another issue was with the back. The pattern mentions working until 25 inches and then BO for the shoulders but that would make it too long for the front overall. I ended up starting the BO at about 21 inches and only doing 3 decreases on each side

The neck border was written wrong. It should be in K1, P1 rib.

There’s a few more that you can find here. She also talks more about the pattern.

BalthVest Balthezar Vest 2-08 15

Balthezar Vest 2-08 10 Balthezar Vest 2-08 12

Mods:

– I was running short on yarn and only did about 3 rows on the neck band and only did half cap sleeves using short rows

– Used Size 19 needles for everything but the neckband and sleeve caps. My friend has made this and recommended using the size 19 needles for the bottom rib to make it more stretchy.

– Yarn. I quadrupled Caron one pounder that I had in my stash. I used the whole ball save a yard or two of end clippings.

Pros:

– I love the color! (I think the picture with the black shirt is the most accurate)

– It doesn’t feel too chunky. ie. I don’t feel like a marshmallow!

Cons:

– I can’t decide which shirt to wear with it. I thought taking pictures of various shirts would help but it’s gotten me even more confused. I am leaning towards the pink cowl/turtle neck one, but I think it washes out the purple color a little.

Help a girl out? Which look do you prefer?

3 Responses to “Balthezar Vest”

  1. thepugmaven said

    Hmm, definitely wear it with the white blouse. The contrast both in color and style is quite nice! Great job!

  2. ms350 said

    I like it with the Black, I think the simple lines of the plain t-shirt and black color leave the attention on the vest.
    The collared shirts take away from the knitting some I think.

  3. suzanne tubb said

    I like it with the black the best it brings out the colour of the vest

Leave a Reply

 
