Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Saartje’s Bootees

Posted by 2ton Inspired on February 29, 2008

Saartje's BooteesSaartje's Bootees

Saartje's Bootees

I was on a mission to use up all the purple Lion Brand Cotton yarn from the EZ February Sweater and whipped up these Saartje’s Booties. They’re unbelievably tiny and hopefully fit a newborn!

The soles were made flat and then I joined it to make in the round to avoid having many ends to weave in for the straps. It made it so much easier to finish! Basically I just CO for one side, worked the 20 or so on the needles and CO for the other side.

I also took the advice of one Ravelry member and used this technique for the button holes. It feel it gives it a finished look. Although it can be hard to get the button holes to match in size. I wish I had better buttons but these in my stash fit perfectly and I didn’t want to detract from the cuteness of the booties.

After finishing these I can see why there are almost 1500 of these listed as FO’s on Ravelry! I’m sure I’ll be adding to that number. These are definitely great for a quick and easy baby gift.

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton and Sugar’n Cream
Needles: Size 3 dpn’s.
Pattern: Saartje’s Booties

One Response to “Saartje’s Bootees”

  1. milmom said

    PRECIOUS!!

Leave a Reply

 
