Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Baby time

Posted by 2ton Inspired on March 10, 2008

baby-jacket.jpgI’ve been meaning to start on a few baby boy items for a friend, but haven’t been inspired by any patterns. My sister (who has two boys of her own) suggested cardigans for the ease of putting it on a squirmy baby and hats because babies can never have to many.

This weekend I spent some time on Ravelry searching various cardigan patterns and fell in love with the Ribbed Baby Jacket from Debbie Bliss. (bonus points for being free at Prima’s website!) OK, so the picture I have is a girl version but there are some beautiful photos on Rav in boy colors.

I wanted to go with a non-standard boy color but the store didn’t have many options. There was a lime green color but it seemed too bright and I’m not sure lime green looks good on Asian skin anyway. The browns weren’t dark enough for me so in the end I went with Sugar’n Cream yarn in a baby blue color. The blue also matches a Sugar’n Cream Twists ball I have in my stash. I have some ideas for using both together already.

The pattern is coming along. The cardigan is worked in one piece and I’ve already finished the back and half of the arms. I’m just starting on the left front. I haven’t decided on the closure though. While at the store I did pick up two packs of various buttons in different colors. Or maybe just snap closures. Anny Purls made a cute Chinese button that I can see working for a boy too.

Leave a Reply

 
