Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Simple Baby Knits

Posted by 2ton Inspired on March 24, 2008

Ever since seeing these Simple Shoes from Uniform Studio I’ve wanted to make a pair. The main draw for me was the size 10.5 needles and worsted weight yarn! Bonus points as well for being seamless.

I did attempt the pattern awhile back and failed miserably to comprehend the wrap and turn instructions and eventually gave up. The RPG’er in me thought, “Must level up my skills!” and I went on to work on other things for awhile. I decided it was time to try again this weekend and am glad I gave it another shot!

DSC04580

They worked up quickly once the wrap and turn clicked. I think what threw me off last time was the use of “needle 1”, “needle 2”, “needle 3” and “needle 4.” They’re pretty small, probably fit for newborn to 3 months? I’ve already started thinking about how to add more stitches to make larger sizes.

The booties by themselves are pretty darn cute but I thought matching mittens would rock. So instead of looking for already made patterns I went ahead and created one of my own. (Hope I haven’t ripped anyone off!)

DSC04579

The bottom are meant to fold over like the booties to help reinforce the ribbing to stay on. Plus it gives the pair a matchy matchy feeling with the folds. I hope they fit babies! The full pattern is below and I’ll be adding it soon to the patterns page.

Oh also the colors a little off in the pictures. It was a little too sunny this morning when I took these. They’re a nice deep red color, good for boys or girls.

DSC04577

Chunky Baby Mitts

Measurements
Height: 5 inches (unfolded)
Opening: 2.75 inches
Wrist: 2.5 inches
Widest part of hand: 2.75 inches

Using size 10.5 needle, co 18 loosely.
Divide evenly between 3 needles (6 sts per needle.)
Knit 6 rows

Wrist shaping:
K2tg, *k3, k2tg* end k1
*k1, p1* for 3 rows
Kftb, *k3, kftb* k1
Knit 10 rows

Top decreasing:
*k2, k2tog*, end k2
Knit 1 row
*k1, k2tog*, end k2
Knit 1 row
Cut yarn and thread through remaining sts 2x
Wave in ends.

One Response to “Simple Baby Knits”

  1. Joymama said

    These are very cute–you did a great job! I just read the shoe pattern and am confused too but I hope to try these some time. I’ll make the mitts first.
    Thank you for the pattern.

Leave a Reply

 
