Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Fabrics, oh my!

Posted by 2ton Inspired on April 2, 2008

Most of my sewing projects are real instant gratification projects. Things that can be done in a day or a few hours, like purses! It’s a wonder I spend more time knitting then sewing because of this.

My biggest dilemma is choosing the right fabrics. Is it the right texture? Do the colors match? Will it go with the rest of my wardrobe? I always get so overwhelmed when going to the fabric store because of all the choices.

What’s brought about this topic? Well, Purlbee.com just debuted their first line of fabrics this week, Cake Rock Beach, and I really really like the Fire and Water collection (pictured below.)

Cake Rock Beach

And that led to my browsing all the online stores I’ve got bookmarked and came across a few others that I’m drawn to. The image below are fabrics from RetroDepot’s Folklore collection. Green, brown and pink is becoming one of my favorite color combinations.

retrodepot_folklore

And finally, I’m really drawn to the greens (it screams SPRING!) and love the punch of pink from Joel Dewberry’s Ginseng Collection.

JasmineThumb

I wonder if I can start a fabric budget in addition to my yarn budget. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
