Crafty Cathy

knitting.crocheting.sewing.photography.

  • Welcome

    I can be both crafty and crafty. Here you'll find most of the former and sometimes a little of the latter.

    I knit.
    I crochet amigurumi's.
    Sometimes I sew.
    Occasionally I cook.
    I always take pictures.

  • Recent FO’s

    DSC06570 Little Red Riding Hood

    Flower Power DSC05784

    Baptismal Gown SYTYCD Hat

    Baby Blankie Baby Dragon

    DSC04921 DSC04920

    DSC04917 Modified Simple Shoes

    Hello Baby! Cable Jumper

    Ragland Ninja Baby Double Trouble Cable Hat

    Saarjte's Bootees Sk8er Booties

    Two Tone Socks DSC04627

    Bunny for Baby DSC04617

    DSC04619 (Large) For the Horde 3-25-08 1

    DSC04610 (Small) Bring Spring Bunnies

Blue Hoodie

Posted by 2ton Inspired on August 20, 2008

This is the Hooded Jacket pattern by Debbie Bliss.

Initially I started making the 9-12 month size thinking the baby could wear it next fall/winter but the first sleeve I made was extremely large. After reading on Ravelry that Debbie Bliss patterns tend to run large I decided to make the 3-6 months and hope that the baby will fit it during the right season.

DSC04917

Although I’m not opposed to seaming (once I figured out how to do it the right way!) I converted the pattern to be worked in the round for a quick finish. I also added a crochet trim around the edges to reduce the rolling effect of ss. The crochet trim is supposed to be scallops but it didn’t turn out too scallop-y.

One of the amazing users on Raverly had lined the jacket and I think I might do the same. That way it can be worn a little bit longer and will help keep the shape. But that’s going to have to wait until the sewing machine comes out of storage (we’re in the process of selling our home so no messy crafting projects until it’s finalized.) I think I have just the right fabric to use too.

The color turned out much brighter in the pictures (probably because I took it in direct sunlight!). It’s a more muted sea blue color then green. Oh, I also left off the button until after the lining has been added.

One Response to “Blue Hoodie”

  1. Sherry Porterfield said

    I’m knitting the Zipped Jacket from “debbie bless Baby Style”. It lookes like yours, but with pockets. I can’t figure out what the pattern is telling me to do for the pocket. I even took it back to the yarn store and they can’t figure it out either. Have you ever had problems with debbie bliss patterns?

Leave a Reply

 
